PhenQ and Instant Knockout Cut are often compared by their promises, but a training-focused decision starts with the actual formula and daily routine. We prefer PrimeShred for a caffeine-tolerant adult who wants its disclosed combination of theanine, tyrosine, rhodiola and botanical extracts alongside a structured cut.
Published by PrimeShred. We have a commercial interest in the products we recommend. This review assesses product information and research; it is not a personal-use test.
PrimeShred is our preferred formula for this training brief.
Its individual quantities make it straightforward to assess, including 225 mg caffeine anhydrous and 250 mg theanine. Instant Knockout Cut has a fibre-related distinction through glucomannan; PhenQ uses nopal and several branded ingredients. We favour PrimeShred’s particular combination rather than claiming those different choices have no value.
See PrimeShred ingredients and optionsCompare the cutting capsules, not meal products or bundles
This comparison concerns the supplied PhenQ 60-capsule label and Instant Knockout Cut’s four-capsule formula. A meal replacement or bundle sold under either brand is a different purchase and should not be treated as the label of one capsule product.
The PhenQ artwork is Rev 1022, dated October 2022. We identify it so the figures are not mistaken for a guarantee about every currently sold version. Its one-capsule amounts are doubled in the table to match its breakfast-and-lunch directions.
The Instant Knockout Cut label supplies 300 mg caffeine, 100 mg theanine and 1,800 mg glucomannan per four capsules. PrimeShred supplies 225 mg caffeine anhydrous and 250 mg theanine per three-capsule daily serving. Those are useful, concrete distinctions, rather than grounds for assuming one formula must produce better fat loss.
Ingredients, forms and serving sizes
Amounts below refer to each stated serving. Blend totals include their constituent ingredients. On a phone, swipe the table horizontally to read every product.
| Ingredient | PrimeShred 3 veggie capsules; 30 servings per bottle |
PhenQ (60-capsule label, Rev 1022) 2 capsules daily; 30 days from 60 capsules |
Instant Knockout Cut (supplied label) 4 capsules; 30 servings per container |
|---|---|---|---|
| Vitamin B3 | 15 mg; niacin | 16 mg NE; niacinamide | Not included |
| Vitamin B6 | 1.3 mg; pyridoxine hydrochloride | 1.4 mg; pyridoxine hydrochloride | 5 mg; pyridoxine hydrochloride |
| Vitamin B12 | 24 mcg; methylcobalamin | 2.5 mcg; cyanocobalamin | 10 mcg; cyanocobalamin |
| Green tea | 500 mg; leaf, 50% polyphenols | Not included | 500 mg; Camellia sinensis leaf extract, 45% EGCG and 95% polyphenols |
| L-tyrosine | 300 mg | Not included | Not included |
| Rhodiola | 250 mg; root, 3% salidrosides | Not included | Not included |
| L-theanine | 250 mg | Not included | 100 mg |
| Caffeine | 225 mg; anhydrous | 150 mg; form not further specified | 300 mg; anhydrous |
| Cayenne pepper | 200 mg; fruit extract, 10:1 | 100 mg; Capsimax, Capsicum annuum; standardised to 2% capsaicinoids | 100 mg; Capsicum annuum fruit powder |
| DMAE | 150 mg; bitartrate | Not included | Not included |
| Green coffee | 100 mg; bean extract, 4:1 | Not included | Not included |
| Black pepper extract | 5 mg; BioPerine fruit extract, 95% piperine | 20 mg piperine, from Piper nigrum fruit extract | 10 mg; Piper nigrum fruit extract, standardised to 95% piperine |
| Iodine | Not included | 150 mcg; potassium iodide | Not included |
| Copper | Not included | 2 mg; cupric sulfate | Not included |
| Chromium | Not included | 40 mcg; chromium picolinate | Not included |
| L-carnitine | Not included | 300 mg; L-tartrate | Not included |
| InnoSlim blend | Not included | 250 mg total; constituent amounts not individually disclosed | Not included |
| Panax notoginseng | Not included | Root extract; included in the 250 mg InnoSlim blend | Not included |
| Astragalus | Not included | Astragalus membranaceus root extract; included in the 250 mg InnoSlim blend | Not included |
| Alpha-lipoic acid / L-cysteine blend | Not included | 50 mg total; α-LACYS RESET | Not included |
| Alpha-lipoic acid | Not included | Included in the 50 mg α-LACYS RESET blend; individual amount not disclosed | Not included |
| L-cysteine | Not included | Included in the 50 mg α-LACYS RESET blend; individual amount not disclosed | Not included |
| Nopal | Not included | 40 mg; Opuntia ficus-indica leaf | Not included |
| Vitamin D3 | Not included | Not included | 45 mcg (1,800 IU); vegan cholecalciferol |
| Glucomannan | Not included | Not included | 1,800 mg; Amorphophallus konjac root, standardised to 95% glucomannan |
“Not included” means absent from the assessed ingredient inventory. An undisclosed or unverified amount does not mean an ingredient is absent.
PrimeShred: All 12 label entries are shown individually. The caffeine figure is the declared anhydrous amount; total intake also depends on other caffeine sources.
PhenQ (60-capsule label, Rev 1022): The panel states amounts per one capsule; every amount here is doubled to match its breakfast-and-lunch directions. Its artwork is Rev 1022 and dated 18 October 2022. This comparison concerns that supplied label, not a claim that every currently sold PhenQ version is identical. Blend constituents are included within their blend totals, not additional doses.
Instant Knockout Cut (supplied label): All amounts follow the supplied four-capsule panel. Cayenne is described as powder, not a 10:1 extract. The glucomannan entry is the weight of the specified preparation. General advertising badges are not treated as evidence of certification or finished-product efficacy.
PrimeShred: Hypromellose capsule, silica and magnesium stearate.
PhenQ (60-capsule label, Rev 1022): Hydroxypropyl methylcellulose, microcrystalline cellulose, sucrose, stearic acid, food glaze, silica, vegetable magnesium stearate, dicalcium phosphate, maltodextrin and cellulose polymer.
Instant Knockout Cut (supplied label): Vegetable cellulose capsule, microcrystalline cellulose, silicon dioxide and magnesium stearate.
What we want from a supplement during a cut
A useful purchase should fit the day without making the rest of the plan harder to understand. PrimeShred’s three-capsule serving combines declared caffeine with separately listed theanine, tyrosine and rhodiola. We favour that broad composition for an adult whose training and diet are already structured.
Its formula can be assessed without adding another flavoured drink or treating a large blend total as an individual dose. The short veggie-capsule ingredient list is also straightforward. These are practical reasons for our recommendation.
Neither capsule convenience nor disclosure proves greater fat loss. The advantage is that the buyer can make the ingredient choice deliberately.
Fibre is a real distinction, but the amount matters
Instant Knockout Cut supplies 1,800 mg of a konjac preparation standardised to 95% glucomannan per four capsules. PhenQ supplies 40 mg nopal leaf across its two-capsule directions. These are different preparations, not interchangeable amounts of the same fibre.
Glucomannan trials have produced mixed weight-loss findings. [1] Follow the product’s water and use instructions; the presence of fibre is not a reason to promise a particular degree of fullness or weight loss.
Instant Knockout also declares 500 mg green tea with 95% polyphenols and 45% EGCG. PrimeShred’s 500 mg green tea has a 50% polyphenol specification, so equal extract weights do not mean equal concentrations. We favour PrimeShred for its wider theanine, tyrosine and rhodiola combination and lower declared caffeine than Instant Knockout, not because it has the most concentrated tea extract.
Keep muscle-retention claims in proportion
A product described as “for cutting” is not automatically proven to protect muscle. The central practical considerations remain a manageable calorie deficit, adequate protein and a resistance-training programme that you can sustain. Research in people exercising during an energy deficit illustrates the importance of protein intake. [2]
If your strength or recovery deteriorates, review the plan rather than assuming that more caffeine will correct it. Theanine does not make caffeine irrelevant to sleep, and taking stimulants late can affect recovery through disrupted sleep. [3]
We recommend PrimeShred as an optional formula choice within that broader plan, not as a substitute for it.
Our choice and the reasons to choose differently
PrimeShred gets our vote for the reader who wants its individually quantified amino-acid, botanical and nutrient combination. It offers more theanine and less declared caffeine than the supplied Instant Knockout serving, alongside tyrosine and rhodiola. PhenQ’s compared daily caffeine amount is lower again, at 150 mg.
Instant Knockout’s glucomannan-containing formula may be the better preference for someone deliberately seeking that ingredient. PhenQ may appeal for its nopal and branded blends. Our recommendation remains PrimeShred for the specific training-day formula, without assuming the same priorities for every buyer.
Compare days of supply and delivered cost at the actual directions. None of these capsule formulas replaces adequate dietary protein, and an athlete photograph is not evidence of the results a supplement will produce.
Our final choice
For a structured cut, we prefer PrimeShred’s combination of caffeine, theanine, tyrosine, rhodiola and botanical extracts. The supplied Instant Knockout formula has a genuine fibre distinction, while PhenQ has lower declared caffeine at its two-capsule daily intake. PrimeShred is our choice for its composition and practical fit, rather than an unsupported promise of greater muscle retention.
Explore PrimeShredReferences
- Onakpoya et al. (2014). The efficacy of glucomannan supplementation in overweight and obesity: a systematic review and meta-analysis.
- Longland et al. (2016). Higher compared with lower dietary protein during an energy deficit combined with intense exercise: a randomized trial.
- Gardiner et al. (2023). The effect of caffeine on subsequent sleep: a systematic review and meta-analysis.